No Texting and Driving Ban Passed into Law

Starting on September 1st, Texas will become the 47th state in the country to adopt a law banning texting and driving. While dozens of cities in Texas have already banned texting while driving, this ban will now be applicable statewide. If a driver is caught texting while driving, he or she will be punishable by a fine of up to $99. Repeat offenders will have to pay $200.

Enacting this law is an effort to curb potentially dangerous or even fatal accidents that are caused by distracted drivers. According to the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT), Red car and white truck in vehicle accidentapproximately one-in-five crashes are caused by distracted drivers. Their study goes on to say that in Texas, 455 people were killed and over 3,000 were seriously injured in 2016 because of distracted drivers.

What this new law means for you is: first, please make sure to refrain from texting while driving. Avoiding a ticket due to a monetary fee should not be the reason you avoid texting while driving, you should consider the damage that can be caused to yourself or to others by not having full attention on the road.

Contact Your Dallas Car Wreck Lawyers Today!

If you’ve been in a car accident, please contact Frenkel & Frenkel personal injury lawyers for a free consultation at 1-800-834-0000.

Back to Blog
Contact us media
Accessibility: If you are vision-impaired or have some other impairment covered by the Americans with Disabilities Act or a similar law, and you wish to discuss potential accommodations related to using this website, please contact our Accessibility Manager at (214) 333-3333.
Contact Us