No Texting and Driving Ban Passed into Law
Starting on September 1st, Texas will become the 47th state in the country to adopt a law banning texting and driving. While dozens of cities in Texas have already banned texting while driving, this ban will now be applicable statewide. If a driver is caught texting while driving, he or she will be punishable by a fine of up to $99. Repeat offenders will have to pay $200.